RSS

My Weekend Project: A Critter House From Pallets

12 Aug

Image

Oh my…what a weekend.

We did get me a critter house built from some pallets we collected.

Image

Look at that pile of “junk”.

Talk about trash to treasure. MORE Details on how-to HERE.

I am using my critter house for my ducks.

Donald, Daisy, and Howard will love it.

In addition to getting that built ( we still need to paint it though), we had a parade to attend.

Image

This is my hubby, and our 4 year old son, Cade on the Allis-Chalmers. We are privy to any, and all of the parades…being as we live in such a small town.

It makes the kids feel SUPER important. lol

We had a good time with that.

We got home, and went into our typical chores. Cleaning, weeding, and the like. Then my 8-year old daughter, Kyla, got bit by a squirrel…blank stare…

No that is not a typo. She got BIT by a SQUIRREL??!!

Only my children.

I admit after shock my first response was RABIES.

It’s a mom thing.

No matter what happens your mind goes to the WORST possibility.

My mind searched, and I ran into the house for peroxide, and I ran back into the yard and grabbed a hand full of Plantain (I told you I LOVE this stuff).

I cleaned the wound on her finger with the peroxide, and chewed the plantain and spit it on her wound. (Now before you all start yelling at me about the germs in my mouth…it would have been better for HER to chew it herself, however she is 8. She was crying, scared, and even in a good frame of mind would not had jumped at the opportunity  to chew something green from the yard)

Then I run to the laptop to see what they say about squirrel bites. In all my years as a mama…this is a first for me.

I find out apparently it is not so rare to get bit by a squirrel??!!

So…after calling the Ohio Department of Health (because apparently it is a State law to report wild animal bites, and I do not want Children’s Services up in my business) I called to report the bite.

They stated that squirrels were not on the “danger” list for rabies in our area.

After the fear had let go, I finally got the kid to tell me why she tried to pick up a squirrel. Apparently..she thought it was a bunny.

That kid.

sigh

She may be the death of me.

The amazing part of this story is just how the bite looked this morning. I SO wish I had gotten some pics, but I wasn’t even thinking about it at the time. But, take my word for it…it looked NASTY!

I went back and forth whether or not to take her to the ER for stitches. No joke.

This morning, when I took off the bandage it was a WOW moment. Plantain is magic I tell ya!!

God put these “weeds” here for a reason. Not that traditional medicine does not have it’s place, but it is not a “fix all”.

Her wound looks like scratches this morning. No swelling. No bruising. No redness.

The open wounds are sealed, and look great. I have used plantain for many things, and it still never quits amazing me!

So…that was my weekend.

Crazy even for around here.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on August 12, 2013 in DIY, Herbs, Natural Living

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “My Weekend Project: A Critter House From Pallets

  1. JonesGardenBlog

    August 12, 2013 at 10:04 pm

    Wow! I think I need to look more into plantain, with four boys it might cut down on my ER trips…

     
  2. sustainable31

    August 12, 2013 at 11:17 pm

    I am tellin ya! I LOVE the stuff, and it even amazed me. I really wish I had taken pictures, but I was in “Mama flip-out mode”.

     
  3. MJ

    August 13, 2013 at 3:38 pm

    Thanks for the tip on plantain. I’m gearing up to plant a medicinal herb garden and am still in the research phase.

    Are you going to ever do a post on how you built that house? We want to get chickens, and I wanted to build a coop from pallets, but I’d really like to find plans for it, instead of figuring it out on my own. Just for the time-wise aspect. Still in the research phase for this project, too. 🙂

     
    • sustainable31

      August 13, 2013 at 4:47 pm

      I can do a “How to” on the critter house. It was pretty simple…my husband took pics for me…but he is no photographer ..so they are grainy and sad. But, I can work on something to post a “how to for ya”.

       
      • MJ

        August 13, 2013 at 10:42 pm

        That would be awesome. Thanks! 🙂

        Do you know off-hand (or maybe later for your post) what type of seal or paint won’t poison the chickens? We’ll probably be doing quail, as well.

         

Leave a Reply

 
